LMS Representatives

The continued health of the Society depends on nurturing and maintaining close contact with its membership. As current Treasurer I am making the development of a vibrant and active network of LMS representatives a priority. Sixty or so members have already agreed to serve in this important role, which is a very positive start. (The names of the current representatives and their universities are listed below.) If there is no representative listed for your institution please contact membership@lms.ac.uk. We aim to have representatives at every higher educational institution in the UK. It is essential that your representatives on Council are kept aware of the challenges and opportunities facing mathematics in the UK so that they can reflect your views accurately.

Although the majority of LMS members are pure mathematicians, the Society exists to serve all branches of mathematics – pure, applied and applicable. The diverse research interests of our Presidents over the past decade make this very clear, and our current representatives have a similar wide range of research interests.

Professor Robert Curtis
LMS Treasurer
 

The Role of the LMS Representative

      Membership

  • Encourage membership
  • Act as Proposer/Seconder and assist in finding aproposer/seconder
  • Encourage local members to vote in the annual LMS Elections
  • Act as a local contact for the LMS

Grants

  • Promote LMS grants to colleagues

Events and Activities

  • Encourage attendance at Regional Meetings
  • Promote LMS events & activities e.g. displaying posters, emails to colleagues

Students

  • Liaise with student societies
  • Encourage membership amongst students

Working with the LMS and other LMS representatives

  • Liaise with LMS Regional Representatives and the LMS Treasurer
  • Work with other LMS departmental representatives
  • Attend an  annual LMS Representatives Meeting at De Morgan House
  • Regular liaison with De Morgan House, requesting support where needed
  • Produce an annual report for the LMS
     

List of LMS Representatives (November 2015)

Regional Representatives

Region

Representative

Institution

Email

Midlands Regional Rep

Chris Parker

Birmingham

c.w.parker@bham.ac.uk

Northern Regional Rep

Mike Prest

Manchester

mprest@manchester.ac.uk

South West & South Wales Rep

Tomasz Brzezinski

Swansea

T.Brzezinski@Swansea.ac.uk

Representatives

Institution

Representative

Email

Bath

Jonathan Dawes

j.h.p.dawes@bath.ac.uk

Birkbeck

Ben Fairbairn

b.fairbairn@bbk.ac.uk

Birmingham

Natalia Petrovskaya

n.b.petrovskaya@bham.ac.uk

Brighton

Paul Harris

P.J.Harris@brighton.ac.uk

Bristol

James Stankewicz

 j.stankewicz@bristol.ac.uk

Brunel

 Simon Shaw

 simon.shaw89@alumni.imperial.ac.uk

Cambridge

Julius Ross

j.ross@dpmms.cam.ac.uk

Cardiff

Federica Dragoni

DragoniF@cardiff.ac.uk

Chester

Jason Roberts

j.roberts@chester.ac.uk

City

Radha Kessar

Radha.Kessar.1@city.ac.uk

Coventry

James Griffin

ab8581@coventry.ac.uk

De Monfort

   

Durham

Norbert Peyerimhoff

norbert.peyerimhoff@durham.ac.uk

Edinburgh

Sue Sierra

s.sierra@ed.ac.uk

Essex

Gerald Williams

gwill@essex.ac.uk

Exeter

Nigel Byott

N.P.Byott@exeter.ac.uk 

Glasgow

Brendan Owens

Brendan.Owens@glasgow.ac.uk

Greenwich

Tony Mann

A.Mann@gre.ac.uk

Heriot-Watt

Anke Wiese

a.wiese@hw.ac.uk

Hull

 Ron Reid-Edwards

R.Reid-Edwards@hull.ac.uk

Imperial College

Dorothy Buck

d.buck@imperial.ac.uk

KCL

 Konstanze Rietsch

 konstanze.rietsch@kcl.ac.uk

Kent

Peter Fleischmann

P.Fleischmann@kent.ac.uk

Kingston

 Mark Jones

mark.jones@kingston.ac.uk

Lancaster

 Alexander Belton

 a.belton@lancaster.ac.uk 

Leeds

Alison Parker

 A.E.Parker@leeds.ac.uk 

Leicester

Frank Neumann

fn8@mcs.le.ac.uk

Lincoln

Evgeny Khukhro

ekhukhro@lincoln.ac.uk

Liverpool

Jon Woolf

Jonathan.Woolf@liverpool.ac.uk

Loughborough

Alexander Veselov

A.P.Veselov@lboro.ac.uk

LSE

Jan van den Heuvel

jan@maths.lse.ac.uk

Manchester

Charles Eaton

charles.eaton@manchester.ac.uk

Newcastle

Sarah Rees

Sarah.Rees@ncl.ac.uk

Northumbria

Maia Angelova

maia.angelova@northumbria.ac.uk

Nottingham

Martin Edjvet

martin.edjvet@nottingham.ac.uk

Oxford

Karin Erdmann

Karin.Erdmann@maths.ox.ac.uk

Oxford Brookes

Rachel Long

r.long@brookes.ac.uk

OU

Phil Rippon

p.j.rippon@open.ac.uk

Portsmouth

Andrew Osbaldestin

andrew.osbaldestin@port.ac.uk

Plymouth

Stephen Huggett

S.Huggett@plymouth.ac.uk

QMUL

 

 

QUB

Martin Mathieu

m.m@qub.ac.uk

Reading

Nikos Katzourakis 

 

Royal Holloway, University of London

Simon Blackburn

 S.Blackburn@rhul.ac.uk

Salford

Ray Hill

R.Hill@salford.ac.uk

Sheffield

Kirill Mackenzie

k.mackenzie@sheffield.ac.uk

Sheffield Hallam

Eleanor Lingham

e.lingham@shu.ac.uk

Southampton

Jelena Grbic

J.Grbic@soton.ac.uk

St. Andrews

Colva Roney-Dougal

colva@mcs.st-andrews.ac.uk

Strathclyde

Penny Davies

penny.davies@strath.ac.uk

Surrey

Ian Roulstone

i.roulstone@surrey.ac.uk

Sussex

Arghir Zarnescu

 

Swansea

Tomasz Brzezinski

T.Brzezinski@Swansea.ac.uk

UCL

Jason Lotay

j.lotay@ucl.ac.uk

UCLan

Davide Penazzi

DPenazzi@uclan.ac.uk 

UEA

Jonathan Kirby

jonathan.kirby@uea.ac.uk

UWE

Tim Swift

tim.swift@uwe.ac.uk

Warwick

 

 

York

Stephen Donkin

stephen.donkin@york.ac.uk